2017 Year In Review

With 2017 coming to an end in a little over a week, it’s a good time to look back on what the SELinux, audit, and libseccomp projects have accomplished this year, and recognize the contributors that made it all possible.

In 2017 we had five Linux Kernel releases, one SELinux userspace release, ten audit userspace releases, and two libseccomp releases.

An Open Source project is only as good as it’s contributors, so I want to thank everyone who contributed code in 2017, as well as those who contributed code that hasn’t yet made it into the main repositories (unfortunately not represented in the lists below).

Contributors to the SELinux kernel and userspace code bases (sorted by number of commits).

Nicolas Iooss
Stephen Smalley
James Carter
Petr Lautrbach
Markus Elfring
Alan Jenkins
Daniel Jurgens
Vit Mojzis
Jason Zaman
Richard Haines
Jan Zarsky
Dan Walsh
Steve Lawrence
James Morris
Colin Ian King
Florian Westphal
Patrick Steinhardt
Chenbo Feng
Corentin LABBE
Eric W. Biederman
Antonio Murdaca
Kees Cook
Luis Ressel
Jeff Vander Stoep
Matthias Kaehlcke
Ingo Molnar
Gary Tierney
Dan Cashman
Tom Cherry
Christian Göttsche
Miroslav Grepl
Nick Kralevich
Guido Trentalancia
Greg Kroah-Hartman
Paul Moore
Kyeongdon Kim
Richard Guy Briggs
Arvind Yadav
Michal Hocko
Julien Gomes
Scott Mayhew
Junil Lee
Al Viro
Tetsuo Handa
Eric Biggers
Dan Carpenter
David Ahern
Alexander Potapenko
Alexey Dobriyan
Dave Jiang
Krister Johansen
Casey Schaufler
Yongqin Liu
Lukas Vrabec
Grégoire Colbert
Laurent Bigonville
Bernhard M. Wiedemann
Colin Walters
Nikola Forró
Ville Skyttä
Lokesh Mandvekar
Thomas Petazzoni
Karl MacMillan
Sandeep Patil

Contributors to the audit kernel code base (sorted by number of commits). Unfortunately I’m unable to include the audit userspace contributors as the audit userspace git log is not a reliable source of contributor information for 2017.

Paul Moore
Jan Kara
Richard Guy Briggs
Elena Reshetova
Nicholas Mc Guire
Steve Grubb
Greg Kroah-Hartman
Deepa Dinamani
Casey Schaufler
Geliang Tang
Mel Gorman
Tyler Hicks
Shu Wang
Derek Robson
Johannes Berg

Contributors to the main libseccomp code base as well as the Golang and artwork repositories (sorted by number of commits).

Paul Moore
Tyler Hicks
Matthew Heon
Jay Guo
Tobias Klauser
Luca Bruno
Vladimir Rutsky
Justin Cormack
K.C. Wong
Kyle R. Conway

A big thanks from me to all of you! I hope you have a safe, happy, and exciting 2018.